Hello world!

Was I supposed to change the post title? Like most decent bloggers, I probably should have. But I found that the automatically generated “Hello world!” by WordPress would serve my purpose best, so I opted to take the easy way…

So yes, I am going to Japan. Has it sunk in yet?

No.

How this whole thing happened is beyond me. When I decided to apply for the study abroad program in my home university, I had automatically planned I would apply to study in the United States, for one semester.

Now, I am going to study in Japan, for a year.

Being a good planner is obviously not one of my gifts.

On the day I was submitting my application, I had a conversation with a friend who told me how studying in Japan would be a great idea, especially if I applied for the JASSO scholarship. I put back my application form back in my bag, took a few Kansai Gaidai brochures from the International Programs Office, and by the afternoon, I decided that Japan would be my destination.

The application process was almost nerve-wrenchingly lengthy for me. It lasted for months; I had to submit a “study abroad” application to my home university, wait until I was notified about my acceptance, then apply to Kansai Gaidai (and boy, was it an application), wait some more, then apply for the JASSO scholarship and spend a decent time of additional waiting.

Which means that, all in all, I had to submit (not less than) 6 recommendation letters, 3 sell-yourself-essays (also known as a ‘statement of purpose’) and 16582578274 personal photos…

I got accepted, in all three, and now all I have to do is wait, again. I booked my plane ticket, and now my passport is somewhere in the Japanese Embassy waiting for the visa to be stamped.

Meanwhile, I had/have to accomplish a few things throughout the waiting:

1. I finally learnt how to ride a bicyle.

2. I started Japanese lessons (more about that in an upcoming post).

3. I had a summer job in order to raise some money to be able to travel around Japan (and Asia) during winter break.

4. I still have to learn how to cook a few simple things, being the horrible, untalented cook I am.

5. Research, research, research!

And a bunch of other things.

My excitement is beyond imagination and absolutely off the charts. Yet, I won’t believe this is all really happening unless that Egyptair plane lands in Kansai International Airport, a month from today…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrew
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 05:06:20

    Haha, yeah… It was awful how many friggen letters of recommendation I needed between my college and Kansai Gaidai. I don’t even have that many faculty that know me well enough to write one and I only needed to ask 3 different people in total (since my college needed two, and KGU needed 3, I just re-used the two from my college). Thankfully, the KGU application was LESS intense than the one for my own college. Gah! Getting classes preapproved took FOREVER! I just hope I can manage to take the classes I have approved otherwise I won’t get credit >=[.

    Reply

  2. Dina
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 05:14:12

    Tell me about it! I am STILL working with the credit transfer unit at my university, trying to work out which courses to take… I am SO looking forward to the day all the paper work would get done, and when the “real” thing starts!

    Reply

  3. Alvaro
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 15:55:23

    that is so true about the application it takes so long, but believe me they will use all the 2453234, pictures of you!

    we should bike around hirakata sometimes, going to the Kuzuha Mall, it is a nice long bike ride!

    see you next semester

    Reply

  4. Ahmed Shaheen
    Jul 25, 2010 @ 21:41:08

    Nicely written Dina. I’m sure gonna follow up your posts. Oh, and kudos to you for finally taking the venture to learn how to ride a bike at the age of twenty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
    Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
wordpress hit counter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers