On Plans (or the lack thereof)

I’m not good with planning stuff. Long term plans, I mean. Probably not because I have trouble with commitments (I do, to an extent), nor is it because I give up easily. Sometimes, I think it is because I change my mind, a lot. But most of the times, I think it’s because it is the nature of things to change.

I can still do a phenomenal job laying out a plan: plans for outings with friends, weekends by the beach, meal plans for the week, reading plans for the month, studying plans before finals. On paper, or on the word document saved on my desktop, my plans will look amazing. Organized, logical, systematized, and capable of adapting to external variables while still maintaining their structure.

But they are all short-term plans;

  • How many additional calories will Saturday’s dinner out involve and what should I do accordingly?
  • Should we invite X along for our Thursday study group or will her grim-like disposition be a menace that will leave us grim-faced and 3 chapters behind?
  • How many pages should I read from David Foster’s Wallace ‘Infinite Jest’ in order to finish it in one month (bearing in mind diminished reading hours on Thursdays, potential headaches and too-lazy-to-read-or-digest-DFW moments)?
  • If  I wake up at 7, have a 7-minute shower, prepare a hard-boiled egg in 8 minutes, put it in a sandwich for breakfast on the go, will I be able to reach the bus stop before 7:24, when the school bus will pass by?
  • If I am going to run on the treadmill for 30 minutes, how should I arrange my playlist so as to perfectly fit, climax at the last ten minutes, with additional 2 minutes for warm up and 2 minutes for cool down?

But ask me to tell you what my plans are for my future and I am at a loss. When I was 14 I wanted to be a professional musician, and now I am a journalism major who’s not willing to work in journalism. When I applied for study abroad I wanted to go to the United States for a year, and now I am going to Japan for a year.

Get it?

So, my point is, I don’t think I am doing a great job when it comes to planning for my year in Japan. I mean, aside from packing issues, money spending issues and university issues, I have no plans and no scenarios  for my year come to mind. In five days I will embark on the most amazing thing I have done in this life of mine and I am clueless. For someone who prides herself in being obsessive about pre-work out playlist plans, being clueless about how to make the best out of a year in Japan is certainly not comforting.

2028... I have plans ready for that, too...

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicola Mirams
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 18:55:44

    🙂 Good luck for your flight this week x

    Reply

  2. Andrew
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 18:57:01

    Hey, don’t worry about it. I’m not a man of plans by any means either. Sure, I have some things I want to do in Japan, like visit friends and such, but as to when, or how… I still haven’t even the foggiest. And don’t even get me started on monetary plans either. I’m sure I’ll have enough cash to do everything I want to do while I’m in Japan, but there’s always that thought in the back of my mind saying, “Dude! You’re gonna run out!”

    With something as large as moving to a new country for 9 months, you really CAN’T plan out too much before you leave anyways just due to a sheer lack of complete information. You really need to see how it goes the first couple weeks and then you can start planning out stuff.

    Reply

  3. Alvaro
    Aug 21, 2010 @ 19:52:13

    I know what u mean with not knowing what u will do in the future. I am a Hospitality Management major, who does not waht to work in a Hotel…

    After thinking it for so long, I have decided to just do the best I can with what I have!

    About Japan, maybe is better not to plan to much ahead where u want to go or do. that way you can make plans with the people you meet here (like me LOL)

    you will be fine, see you in a few days around campus 😀

    Reply

  4. Sara
    Aug 22, 2010 @ 04:48:17

    Don’t worry too much about your future and making the right decisions now in accordance with the as yet lacking long-term plan. If you don’t know now, then you don’t know now, and maybe or maybe not you’ll know the next second. But now already carries you to the next second, and with the added experience from now, you’re more the wiser and your ideas about the future you most want to pursue start to crystallize. If you don’t manage to make the best out of your first few days or weeks or months in Japan, don’t beat yourself up on it, because random, spontaneous experiences could and should be what it takes to cement your grounds for serious decision-making pertaining to your future… So sit back and watch for now 🙂

    Reply

  5. Dina
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 03:31:56

    Your words all make sense…

    When I stop and think, I feel I “know” things will be fine, I “know” I won’t let this year pass without having a dramatic (albeit, a good one) effect on how I live, how I think and how I view life, I know I will do my best to take the best out of it.

    I just have to worry about something, don’t I…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
wordpress hit counter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers