Tonight

I thought to write a post since it is only 7 hours before my plane takes off… The fact that I don’t have time at all but still writing gives a glimpse of hope that I’ll remain faithful to this blog while in Japan.

Things are fine, I guess. I managed to get done with packing by sunrise (!) after several attempts of removing/substituting stuff inorder to bring the weight of my suitcase down to 20 kilograms. To say that it has been mission impossible would be an understatement.

I am still “overweight” by a couple of kilos, but, seriously, taking out more stuff is simply not an option anymore. I have almost no wintery clothes except for two pullovers, my AUC sweater and a rain coat.

It’s good, though, because now I have a great excuse for some Osaka money-spending!

My family are still hanging in there, providing all the help I can think (and can’t think) of. Last night, however, my sister came to sleep in my room, cried a bit and it broke my heart… My friends are amazingly supportive, too, and as time for leaving draws nearer, I realize how much I will really miss having them in my everyday life.

One thing the past two weeks succeeded to do, is showing me how my family and friends really care about me – which I have obviously been underestimating for a long time (like I do with everything else?) Of course, I always knew they did, I mean, that’s the way things go with everyone, right? But I just feel so touched by the unconditional love, support and care I have been receiving from everyone I know. It the kind of thing that makes you stop and think and  re-evaluate your views on how important the people in your lives are, especially if you’re a loner like me.

It’s ok to be a loner – just know that some people would do anything to make you happy.

On-flight reading is ready! This time I decided to go Arabic: Yusuf Edrees and Al Tayeb Saleh. I am still undecided about what I should put on my music player. Will probably go with Medtner’s three piano concertos (Demidenko <3), Keith Jarrett’s Bremen and Lausanne solo concerts, and couple of albums from each: the Beatles, Pink Floyd, Rory Gallagher, Chris Rea and Joe Cocker.

Too much? I don’t think so.

Of course, of course, of course I will NOT sleep on the plane. I have troubles sleeping more than 4 hours in my own bed, so clearly falling asleep on a vehicle flying at 45,000 feet is not really my thing.

Egypt, that’s it… Sayoonara… And in the words of Julie Andrews: So long, farewell, Auf wiedersehen, good night; Adieu, adieu, to yieu and yieu and yieu…

And in my words: Salaam, ya Masr…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nicola Mirams
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 17:37:00

    I am thinking of you: all the best and hope you arrive safely in Japan. I think you’ve given me your address, so I will send you some post asap x

    Reply

  2. Dalia Abbas
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 20:42:56

    WE LOVE YOU DINA! And will miss you!!

    Reply

  3. Dina
    Aug 27, 2010 @ 19:23:41

    I love you too! Awi! Needless to say, everyone should watch out for post cards 😉

    Reply

  4. Maha el Kholy
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 00:28:50

    Dina, I love reading your blogs 🙂
    That’s why I started reading from the very begining 😀
    It must have been super exciting that you were flying and travelling on your own.. I wish I could experience that someday 🙂
    can’t wait to read the rest of your blogs
    w Masr we7sha mn 3’eerek ya Dina 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
wordpress hit counter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers