The Persistance of Time – New and Improved?

<emo monologue>

Sometimes, no, most of the time, I only see the empty half. It’s basically the problem of my life, if you will. Now that I have been here for five weeks, my negative persona shines and my positive one is put on “hibernate”.

All I can think of is that the length of my stay here has been diminished by 5 weeks and that before I know it, it will all be over. All I can think of is my list-of-things-to-do-in-Japan is growing but time spent in Japan is shrinking.

I’ve done quite a lot of things; from Karaoke to ancient temples to attending festivals to sushi restaurants to biking in the rain to making green tea pudding to riding trains that later turn out to be going towards an opposite destination to climbing hills through the shrines to spending nights mentally idle in the park outside my dorm to eating (drinking?) raw eggs so as not to offend my Japanese hosts.

I am spending next weekend in Hiroshima, which will be super interesting. And in order to go there, I will be riding the Shinkansen, which will be super breath-taking, at least for someone used to the Egyptian National Railways.

But it’s never enough, is it?

I feel time is slipping through my hands like sand. Evaporating like cheap nail polish remover.

Then I berate myself for thinking so negatively and wasting even more time while doing it.

I know it’s normal to have good days and bad ones, regardless where you are; be it in the crazy streets of Cairo, the narrow bike paths of Hirakata, the swamps of Botswana or the waterways of Venice. One day you’ll feel good, and the following morning you’ll feel you’re at the end of your rope.

So, my plan for the day is to try an accept these few facts. This, of course, will be followed by a self-blaming session for wasting an afternoon and not going deer-stalking in Nara.

</emo monologue>

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Alaa
    Oct 05, 2010 @ 01:41:45

    To7fa ya dina begad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
wordpress hit counter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers