On a Japanese Afternoon

.

On a Japanese afternoon, I might go grocery shopping. An experience through which I have to forget about my Egyptian grocery shopping habits. Like, you don’t buy cucumbers using kilograms as your primary measuring unit. Why? Because in Japan, one cucumber costs you what’s equivalent to EGP 12~15.

But, on a Japanese afternoon, I can make up for my vitamin deprivation by drinking the much-loved vegetable juice.

On a Japanese afternoon, I might go on a 30 minute bike ride through the narrow streets of Hirakatashi.

This is when I am able to practice my Japanese because I have to repeat “Sumi masen” (excuse me), whenever I bump into someone. I repeat it so much that it comes out now perfectly pitched and -almost- fluent… If it weren’t for my Egyptian looks, one “sumi masen” from me and people would think I am a local.

The bike ride also gives me a chance to ponder upon some of the heavier stuff: How to make the most of this experience? To what extent will I have chaged by next June? Do I really miss Egypt? Should I consider doing my grad studies in Japan instead of the States? and…. what is Tommy Lee Jones doing on iced coffee vending machines?

 

“Well, think me up a cup of coffee and a chocolate doughnut with some of those little sprinkles on top, while you’re thinking.”

 

On a Japanese afternoon, I might do my Japanese homework while watching Sumo wrestling.

On every Japanese afternoon, I convince my self I am spending a Japanese afternoon, a fact I still can’t quite fathom…

Until I realize that I have 4 more pages of Japanese homework to go through…

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Yasminah aka Yu
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 06:15:47

    If you’re stuck at a point where you’re feeling that you should be missing Egypt but you just can’t bring yourself to, whatever happens, don’t force yourself to fake it .. it’ll only confuse you even more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
wordpress hit counter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers