The Gaijin With the Koto Should Drop the Bike

You just got done with the midterm you’ve been dreading the whole week. You’re on the way back home for a much awaited and appreciated brunch the should get the blood pumping in your veins again, after a night of digesting Japanese grammar interrupted by two hours (or less) of sleeping.

You’re on cloud 9 as well as on your bike. You try to avoid another  non-gajin-biking, while simultaneously avoiding the poles in the middle of the side walk, a light pole on your left and a metal fence on your right. You use your brakes that should have been fixed three weeks ago but they don’t quite work (because they should have been fixed three weeks ago).

You fall and your face lands right through the bike then right on the ground…. And everything goes black.

You’re taken to a hospital and with your tongue you feel the blood covering your mouth and a vacant space occuping what used to be your tooth.

Bla bla bla, yada yada yada….

You’re back in your room, alone, with nothing but a dizzy head, your black thoughts, and to insure you your dream Halloween costume, an upper lip well stitched and  as swollen as an eggplant, making The Elephant Man look a little bit more than strangely familiar…

You wonder what in the world are you doing in that country…. why are you riding a bike in the first place? what is this place? why are you rolled up miserably in a futon on the ground wearing a mask on your face? why aren’t you sitting in your mother’s arms? why? why? why?

That was my week in a nutshell.

 

A mild exaggeration of what happened...

 

I think the pain resulting from my biking “incident” was emotional rather than physical. It was the first time I felt this horrible loneliness and the first time I actually wished I were in some polluted Cairene street cursing the traffic and the government instead of studying abroad in Osaka.

Add to that my pathetic skills in help-seeking. As a long time hate-to-be-a-burden person, I didn’t ask for help unless others offered…. And now I have learnt the lesson: if you need help, ask for it damn it!

If it were’t for all the positive vibes I received from people around here, the pain would have lasted for longer….  Be it a card, a bag of mini kitkats, bloomed orchids, nutella on toast, ready made soup or a message on my Japanese phone…Maybe small things make small minds happy, but I am too grateful to even care.

 

My little shrine on the coffee table...

 

The scars and the stitches will go away – it could have been worse. A lot worse. If only the angle with which I hit my head was a little bit inclined, I would have ended up in coma or left quadriplegic.

But I am げんき… and that’s what matters, right?

And now, having had my share of cheesy sentimental monologuing, any idea how I can remove the blood stains from my beloved Adidas T-shirt?

And yes, I’m fixing these demented brakes. Tomorrow. First thing. I promise.

D.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Catherine
    Oct 26, 2010 @ 23:40:11

    Sorry to hear you’ve had an accident, Dina. 😦

    Hope you recover quickly. Take care now.

    Reply

  2. Ahmed Shaheen
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 03:20:48

    Get well soon Dina 🙂

    Reply

  3. Azza
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 05:28:57

    omigod, hope you’re alright. hugs all the way from here!
    as for the breaks (brakes*), procrastination is never the answer 😉
    take care and enjoy your shrine, xx

    Reply

  4. Dina
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 02:31:21

    Thank you =)

    Well, the breaks are fixed and the stitches are coming off… so there we go. For the time being, I really need to work on my bike-riding confidence which has been really wrecked…

    Reply

  5. Sherif Mokhtar
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 02:34:02

    i know it isn’t a really nice subject….but ur just an excellent writer.

    i am sad to know ur hurt.. get well soon 🙂 and keep posting stuff!!

    Reply

  6. Khaled El Ghayesh
    Oct 28, 2010 @ 23:35:56

    Sorry to hear about that D! No fun is without any stupid injuries and losses like that. Just keep on going and cycling and never stop!

    Reply

  7. Dina
    Oct 29, 2010 @ 01:32:14

    Oh yeah, I try to think of it that way… I was almost sure I was going to have a bike-related accident sooner or later, and it finally happened, so I think I should resume my life accordingly 😉

    And at any rate, the word ” bike” is in the title, and even in the web address of that blog, so as long as I am here, blogging, I am biking, too =)

    Reply

  8. yasminah
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 02:49:33

    Eh da ya D!! Alf salama 3aleky..3ashan 5atry 5ally balek mn nafsek shwya! w berra7a msh lazem nebaddel 3ala 120 meter fel sa3a…

    Reply

  9. HAIDY ZAKARIA
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 21:31:50

    salamtik ya dina, hope ou get well soon and hop right back on that bike =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
wordpress hit counter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers