(……)

Two days ago I was planning to write a blogpost about Japanese chewing gum. Now I’m writing one about a horrific earthquake that left thousands dead and tens of thousands missing…. That’s life to you.

On the late evening of March 12th, I was in Starbucks. On ordering a Sakura Latte, the cashier (who had become my friend since I go there quite often) told me that this would be her last night in Starbucks Hirakata, and that the nest morning she’ll be heading up north, towards Tohoku.

On the afternoon of March 13th, Japan was hit by the strongest earthquake it has known since the recordings started. Death toll keep rising, as well as reports of people missing, and satellite images of villages wiped away by the Tsunami the 8.9 quake triggered.

I wonder where the Starbucks girl is now. I wonder if she’s safe or not. I wonder if she was one of those 4 trains which got lost, or if she’s in some public former-school-now-shelter….

In Miyagi Prefecture.. Image from NY Times

I’m fine, alive, with my four limbs intact. Others are not. So let’s pray for them….

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah El Masry
    Mar 13, 2011 @ 12:01:05

    :'((

    Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
wordpress hit counter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers