Perspectives

"Disaster Relief: Ready for Work" Manga Style by Carlos Latuf

The general gaijin attitude towards what’s happening in a nutshell:

Europeans: “OH FUCK IT’S CHERNOBYL AGAIN BOOK YOUR ONE WAY TICKETS NOW RUN FOR YOUR LIVES FUCK UNIVERSITY CREDITS IT’S ARMAGEDDON RUN FORREST RUN”.

Americans: “Can I afford a ticket back?” or “Can I afford a ticket back and forth?” “Maybe I should I ask my school how they’re gonna deal with the credits transfer first.”

Africans: “Fuck that shit. If I survived Africa I can survive anything else…”

Japanese: They are the best. Today we asked a couple of Japanese girls while having a coffee at Starbucks if they were scared.. “No,” they said while shaking their heads, “All will be ok. All will be daijobu“. One of my Japanese friend’s has a cousin in Sendai. She told me with a smile that her cousin is alive, albeit they lost their house and all their belongings.

Why do some cultures react to disaster by reverting to everyone for himself, but others – especially the Japanese – display altruism even in adversity?

I’m thinking of the 50 workers on site at the Fukushima Power Plant risking their lives to bring the situation under control. ほんとにありがとうございます。

All I can say right now is I wouldn’t rather be in any other country handling a disaster like this one.

Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
wordpress hit counter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers